The Declaration of Independence

by admins on December 21, 2008

Church bells rang in Philadelphia on July 4, 1776…. announcing the Declaration of Independence was officially accepted by the Continental Congress. A month prior, Congress had appointed a Committee of five to draft a statement outlining the colonies’ case for independence. The committee consisted of John Adams (Massachusetts), Roger Sherman (Connecticut) Benjamin Franklin (Pennsylvania), Robert R. Livingston (New York) and Thomas Jefferson (Virginia). Jefferson was given task of writing the original document.
The Declaration was adopted without significant change and Jefferson was its primary author. The Declaration of Independence made Jefferson famous. Jefferson wrote: “Neither aiming at originality of principle or sentiment, nor yet copied from any particular and previous writing, it was intended to be an expression of the American mind.”
One of the Philadelphia at the time was The Pennsylvania Packet. It was published by John Dunlap who ws an officer in the Revolution. The paper was known for its engraving of a ship in the center.
Here is the Declaration of Independence as it originally appeared in the Pennsylvania Packet in its issue of Monday, July 8, 1776. This portion of The Packet is from a reprint of the original by J.V. Vondersmith of Philadelphia on the centennial observance of the Declaration in 1876.


The 13 Colonies
The 13 Colonies
The original thirteen colonies were Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, South Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Virginia. 


{ 0 comments… add one now }